PBS Learning Media

                                                      via letters to the next president

This week we were asked to evaluate an OER (Open Education Resource).  I have decided to review PBS Education . The main website is clutter free and clean. You get an immediate sense of who the website is intended for (teachers). There are 4 titles to choose from which will direct you to the accompanying website(s): Learning Media, Teacher Line, Digital Innovators, and Teacher’s Lounge. At the bottom of the page, there is a link to the Terms of Use which speaks to the legal side of the website that users should check out. The section that I want to draw attention to is the first point in the section. Personal Use Permitted  – it states that the user is allowed to use and share information as long as there is no monetary gain.

I will focus my assessment on PBS Learning Media  as the last three links pertain mainly to US teachers.  I use resources from PBS Learning Media  quite often in my classroom to supplement my lessons. I think it is a valuable resource to be aware of, so let’s get started.

                                                        via letters to the next president

screen shot pbslearningmedia.org November 13, 2017

This site is very organized and user friendly. Let’s walk through this. At the top of the page, we are provided with the name/owner of the site, link to an accompanying student site, option to login or create a free account tabs.

The next section, we can browse resources via standards (US), keywords, grade level, subject area, types of media (audio, video, image, document, interactive, webpage, collection, Media Gallery, self-paced lesson, and lesson plan).

The next part of the page contains a huge bright box that urges us to register (open a free account). The rest of the page is filled with thumbnail that are categorized according to subject area (samples of what is available). There is a brief written description of the resource, grade level and media type.

Do I need an account to access material?

I typed in Christmas in the search field and a page of thumbnails popped up. At the bottom of the page there was link to pages with additional search results. The first page consisted mainly of resources for PreK that spanned across different subject areas, but consisted only of images. I quickly scrolled through some of the pages and found that the search results are sorted by lowest grade first.

On the left-hand side of the page, there are options to pick to filter your search. I clicked on the video button and checked off the Grade 6 box.  Once the search options came up, I picked a thumbnail that displayed  a video as the form of media.

 screenshot pbslearningmedia.org

November 13, 2017

I had no trouble playing the video without an account. The page provides a brief written explanation of what the video is about. There are links at the top of the page to share your newfound resource. Important information about the video is found on the left-hand side of the page: grade level, permitted use (what the user is allowed to do with the information), how many views the video has and who funded the resource.

So, if I can access this information without an account, can I share it without an account?

https://www.pbslearningmedia.org/resource/c9eac52e-68ae-4bcb-92f0-74e2a2d62545/oh-christmas-tree/#.WgpcbEyZMdU

I clicked on the share link button above the video on the webpage and inserted into this post. The view I have before I publish this post is a URL link. I am not sure if a video will be inserted once I publish or not (we will see)…

I also managed to share the link via Twitter  with-out creating a PBS account.

screenshot November 13, 2017

Upon further investigation, I found if you wanted to rate the resource(s) you needed to have an account.  Having an account also allows you to create a space in which you could share with your students (Student Site). They need your teacher code to login. I do not have an account, I wonder if this space is similar to an LMS?

What do I need to remember when using PBS Learning Media? The content is US driven, so the standards and grade levels do not correlate with Canadian Standards and grade level, but the content when you find it is very much relevant. The standards of metric may be different. I found most of the videos are from the perspective of US citizens, but I ask my students to find ways we could relate the material or information to Canada.

All in all, this website has a massive library of resources that are worth taking the time to review for yourself.  Enjoy, I hope you find it as useful as I did.

 

Leave a Reply

